Government Partners

Formal partners of the Wa Ni Ska Tan Hydro Alliance that represent Indigenous, regional, and provincial governments.

Black River First Nation

This community is an Ojibwa First Nation and it is located at the banks of O’Hanley and Black Rivers.  Its local economy is based on trapping agricultural development, wild rice harvesting, hunting and commercial fishing.

Brokenhead Ojibway Nation

The Brokenhead Ojibway First Nation is a Treat 1 and Anishinaabe (Saulteaux Ojibwa) First Nation.  This community focuses on providing education and opportunities for the youth, families and Elders.

Four Arrows Regional Health Authority

This incorporation was created and is governed by the four Island Lake First Nations.  These work together to improve the health conditions and services in the Island Lake region.

Norway House Cree Nation

Norway House Cree Nation constitutes one of the largest First Nation communities within the province of Manitoba. It is located on the confluence of Nelson River and Lake Winnipeg.

Pimicikamak Cree Nation

Pimicikamak First Nation is a self-governed indigenous community. Pimicikamak – (Cree) – “the place where a lake lies across the river, the land surrounding that place, the people that has inhabited that land since time immemorial, the nation comprised of that people inhabiting that land adjacent of or about that place or that land or that people.”

Swan Lake First Nation

Swan Lake First Nation is found in the southern central part of Manitoba. Its culture and beliefs are both strongly tied with the land.  This community works towards the stability and advancement of its members.